Choose your personal experience

NUTRITION
                FAQsNUTRITION FAQs

MY 10 YR OLD IS OVERWEIGHT; CAN I START HIM ON A DIET FROM NOW?

A. A strict weight loss diet? NO! Because this can affect your child’s growth! Being careful with the type of food he eats? YES! What’s important in your child’s case is to balance his food intake in a way for him to grow in height while maintaining the same weight and this way he will be balancing out his weight to height ratio over time.


Here are a few nutrition and lifestyle tips to get your child on track for a healthy weight


  • Encourage your child to eat right: Cut down on unhealthy snacks and foods that have lots of calories, fat and sugar, such as chips, ice cream, cakes, fast food and sweetened juices. These are full of calories and low in nutrients! Your child needs to get his calories and nutrients for a healthy growth from the following essential food groups – milk and dairy, breads and cereals, fruits, vegetables, and meats and legumes.
  • Don’t get your child used to big portions: serve him regular portions and if he’s still hungry, you can add a little more. And don’t force him to continue his plate, instead let him recognize his feeling of fullness and stop when he’s had enough.
  • Be a good role model, eat healthy in front of him.
  • Get moving: Incorporate physical activity into your child’s everyday life. For example, go together for a walk in the park and encourage use of the stairs, whenever possible, instead of using the elevator. You can also support your child in taking up one or more sports. Exercise helps convert excess calories to energy and prevents them from accumulating as fat in the body.
  • Go out: Limit TV time or sitting in front of the computer to no more than two hours a day; spend more family time in activities such as swimming and playing fun games.
  • Consult an expert: Consult a dietician to know more about healthy eating.
  • The most common mistake a parent makes is replacing the main meal with unhealthy snacks, if the child is refusing to eat. A better option is to refrain from giving your child anything to eat until he is very hungry. Then offer him a main dish of meat or chicken or a favourite side dish, like rice or yogurt.

FAQs

MY CHILD IS A PICKY EATER WHAT CAN I DO TO MAKE HIM EAT?

MY 10 YR OLD IS OVERWEIGHT; CAN I START HIM ON A DIET FROM NOW?

CAN YOU PROVIDE ME WITH A LIST OF HEALTHY SNACKS FOR MY KID THAT IS STILL TASTY AND APPETIZING?

  1. Menu

    Click on the menu icon to open and browse the site menu. You can click on it from any page.

اختاري تجربتك

أسئلة شائعة عن التغذيةأسئلة شائعة عن التغذية

يعاني طفلي الذي يبلغ من العمر 10 سنوات من وزنٍ زائد، هل يمكنني أن أبدأ له بحِمية لخسارة الوزن الزائد؟

إيّاك وإتّباع حمية غذائية قاسية مع طفلك، فذلك يؤثر سلباً على نموه! أما الإنتباه لأنواع الطعام التي يتناولها، هذا هو الحل السليم! المهم هو أن تقومي بإتّباع نظام غذائي متوازن ينمّيه جسدياً ويكسبه طولاً، مع الحفاظ على الوزن ذاته. وبهذه الطريقة سيصل إلى التوازن الصحي المطلوب بين الطول والوزن مع الوقت.


اتّبعي هذه النصائح عن الغذاء الصحيح وأسلوب الحياة المتوازن لتساهمي في أن يصل طفلك لوزنه الصحي:


  • شجعي طفلك أن يأكل بطريقة صحية: أي أن يتجنّب تناول المأكولات ذات السعرات الحرارية العالية، الدهون والسكريات مثل البطاطا المقلية/الشيبس، المثلجات، الحلويات، الوجبات السريعة والعصائر المحلاة؛ فهي مليئة بالسعرات الحرارية وقليلة بالعناصر الغذائية! من الضروري أن يحصل طفلك على السعرات الحرارية والعناصر الغذائية الكافية لنموه الصحي من خلال تناول مأكولات متنوّعة من المجموعات الغذائية الأساسية مثل الحليب ومشتقاته، الحبوب والنشويات، الفواكه، الخضار، اللحوم والبقوليات.
  • لا تعوّديه على تناول كميات كبيرة من الطعام: قدّمي له كميات معتدلة، وإذا رأيت أنه ما زال جائعاً، يمكنك إضافة المزيد. لا تقومي بإجباره على إنهاء صحنه إذا شبع، فمن المهم أن يتعلّم الطفل مفهوم "الاكتفاء" وكيف يكون الإحساس بالشبع. أنت قدوته، فتناولي طعاماً صحياً أمامه.
  • حركة بلا توقف: أدخلي النشاط البدني الى حياة طفلك اليومية، مثل القيام بالنزهات سيراً على الأقدام عوضاً عن استعمال السيارة، واستخدام السلالم عوضاً عن المصعد. شجعي طفلك على ممارسة الرياضة التي ستساعده بالتأكيد على تحويل السعرات الحرارية الإضافية إلى طاقة، وبالتالي تمنع تراكم الدّهون في الجسم.
  • نظمي مشاوير للخروج من المنزل: لا تدعيه يتعوّد على البقاء أمام شاشتي التلفزيون والكمبيوتر أكثر من ساعتين في اليوم؛ اجمعي العائلة واخرجوا جميعاً لقضاء الوقت سوياً وممارسة بعض النشاطات كالسباحة وممارسة الألعاب المسلية.
  • استشيري أخصائي: استشيري أخصائي تغذية لمعرفة المزيد عن الطعام الصحي.

أسئلة شائعة

عندما يتعلق الأمر بالطعام، يصبح طفلي انتقائياً. ماذا يمكنني أن أفعل لأجعله يأكل؟

يعاني طفلي الذي يبلغ من العمر 10 سنوات من وزنٍ زائد، هل يمكنني أن أبدأ له بحِمية لخسارة الوزن الزائد؟

هل يمكنكم إعطائي قائمة بالوجبات الخفيفة الصحيّة والشهية التي يمكنني تقديمها لطفلي؟

  1. القائمة

    اضغطي على الأيقونة التي لها شكل القلب كما هو موضح في قائمة الموقع وتصفحي. يمكنك الضغط عليها من أي صفحة.