choose your personal experience

Ramadan Health Articles

Ramadan Articles

Avoid losing weight in Ramadan

Avoid losing weight in Ramadan

While some people gain weight during the holy month of Ramadan, others struggle to keep their weight from falling off the normal range. In fact, fasting could be quite a challenge for maintaining a healthy body weight. Especially, if your food intake is not enough to meet the minimum caloric requirements for the basic needs of the body.

Should you worry about weight loss during fasting?

You need not worry, unless your weight is at the borderline of the normal range or lower than the normal value. You can find out if you are underweight by calculating your BMI. To do this, divide your weight by the square of your height; if you get a number of 18.5 or less then you your weight is below normal and you should prevent any further weight loss.

Quite simply, if your height was 1.64m, the square of that would be 1.64x1.64, which is 2.69. Now divide your weight, 50kg for example by 2.6 and you get 18.5. This is your BMI. And going below that is not recommended.

Why do some people lose weight during Ramadan?

Sometimes fasting could last up to 13 hours or more. During this time the body needs glucose which serves as its energy source and is necessary for its proper functioning. Glucose from food could last up to a maximum of 5 hours, after that the body tends to use its fat stores in order to provide the necessary energy. And not restoring these reserves after fasting would result in weight loss

Ways to avoid losing weight:

  • Have your Iftar in two stages: Some people can get full just by eating salad and soup, resulting in them having just a little bit of the main dish. This usually ends up with inadequate caloric intake and might lead to weight loss. You should instead try to have your Iftar meal in two sessions. First have dates, soup and salad. Then go for Maghreb Prayer and come back to have your main dish. In this way you would have given your stomach enough time to prepare for the main dish.
  • Good to Remember: If you feel full quickly during Ramadan, then make sure you drink water between your meals and not with them. Have 1 glass at the beginning of Iftar, wait a couple of minutes then enjoy your meal. The rest (6-7 glasses of water or fluids) can be divided within your non-fasting hours but only 2 hours after food.
  • Enrich your dishes with healthy calories: Sprinkle a generous amount of olive oil to your salad, or slice some olives on your baked, low fat cheese sambosa. You can also add some nuts over your salads and Ramadan desserts.
  • Have an extra nutritious snack between your Iftar and Suhour: When you are out for the evening, have mankoushe with a glass of laban, a bowl of hummus (balila) with a glass of fruit cocktail juice or simply a cheese sandwich and a glass of milk. Remember to take your sweets after this snack so you fill up on nutritious foods first.
  • Make sure to have your Suhour: It will be very difficult to meet your nutritional requirements with just one meal. This is why it is absolutely essential to have a proper Suhour to provide your body with the additional calories vital for your wellbeing, and to prevent any undesirable weight loss. For example, you can have a bowl of foul mudammas sprinkled with a generous quantity of olive oil, a small loaf of brown Arabic bread, some olives, a glass of milk and a bowl of fruit salad in fruit syrup.

In conclusion, there are many ways to boost your calories and avoid losing weight during this month. You can do that by adding healthy nutrient- and calorie-dense ingredients to the foods you are eating. These include healthy oils, nuts, avocados and olives. Also remember to remain physically active during this month since this will help stimulate your appetite.

  1. Menu

    Click on the menu icon to open and browse the site menu. You can click on it from any page.

  2. View

    You can change how you view the site by clicking on the List icon as shown. You are now in the Grid view.

هنا صفحتي

اختاري تجربتك

نصائح ومقالات رمضانية

مقالات رمضانية

تجنبي انخفاض وزنك في رمضان!

تجنبي انخفاض وزنك في رمضان!

إنها فعلاً أمور تدعو للحيرة والتعجب! منا من يشكو من زيادة الوزن خلال رمضان، بالرغم من كل الاحتياطات والمحاولات اليائسة لتفادي الأطباق الشهية واللذيذة. ومنا، من يعاني من انخفاض في معدل وزنه الطبيعي خلال رمضان ويقف عاجزاً عن التحكم بهذا الوضع. وكل واحد منا، يتمنى لو كان مكان الآخر.

في الواقع، قد يؤثر الصيام على الوزن إذا لم تكن كمية الطعام المتناولة خلال الفترة الممتدة من الإفطار حتى السحور كافية لتغطي احتياجات الجسم الأساسية من الطاقة.

من يجب أن يتجنب خسارة الوزن خلال فترة الصيام؟

إذا كنت نحيفة، يعني وزنك على حافة الوزن الطبيعي أو أقل من ذلك، فعليك أن تتجنبي خسارة الوزن. لأن خسارة الوزن في هذه الحالة يعتبر غير صحي.

هناك معادلة حسابية لتعرفي إذا ما كان وزنك ضمن المعدل الطبيعي أو كنت تعاني من النحافة. أولاً، عليك أن تحسبي كتلة دليل الجسم (BMI) أي أن تقسمي وزنك على مربع طولك، فإذا حصلت على نتيجة 18.5 أو أقل عليك أن تنتبهي إلى أي خسارة في الوزن وتتجنبينها. لنأخذ مثالاً، لو كان طولك يساوي 1.64 م ووزنك 49 كغ فإن معدل كتلة جسمك يساوي:

49 ÷ ( 1.64 * 1.64 ) = 18.5 وأي خسارة في الوزن في هذه الحالة قد يعرضك لأن تصبحي دون الوزن الطبيعي وهذا غير محبّذ.

لماذا يخسر بعض الناس الوزن خلال شهر رمضان الفضيل؟

إنها 13 ساعة أو أكثر من الصيام! خلال هذه الفترة، جسمك يحتاج إلى الوقود أي الطاقة ليقوم بمهامه بشكل سليم. هذه الطاقة هي الجلوكوز أو السكر الموجود في طعامك الصحي. قد يكفيك السكر لمدة لا تتعدى 5 ساعات بعد الوجبة. بعد ذلك، يلجأ الجسم إلى حرق مخزونه من الدهون لكي يحصل على الطاقة التي يحتاجها. وهذا ما ينتج عنه خسارة الوزن، إذا لم يتم تعويض هذا المخزون من خلال تناول كمية الطعام الصحية المناسبة خلال فترة الافطار والسحور.

كيف تتجنبن خسارة الوزن؟

  • تناولي إفطارك على مرحلتين:قد يشعر بعض الناس بالشبع بمجرد تناول السلطة والشوربة وكمية بسيطة من الطبق الرئيسي. قد ينتج عن هذا الأمر عدم تناول سعرات حرارية كافية، بالتالي يؤدي هذا الأمر إلى خسارة الوزن. لكي تتجنبي حدوث هذا الأمر يمكنك تناول إفطارك على دفعتين، ابدئي بتناول التمر والشوربة والسلطة ثم قومي بأداء صلاة المغرب، بعدها تناولي الطبق الرئيسي. بهذه الطريقة تكونين قد أتحت متسعاً من الوقت لمعدتك لتتحضر لاستقبال الطبق الرئيسي.
  • خير نصيحة:إذا كنت تشعرين بالشبع بسرعة، اشربي الماء بين الوجبات وليس خلالها كي لا تملئي معدتك بالماء. يمكنك تناول كوب من الماء عند بدء الإفطار، انتظري بعض الوقت ثم تناولي إفطارك. من ثم يمكنك أن تقسمي احتياجاتك من السوائل إلى (6-7 أكواب) ما بين فترة الإفطار والسحور وتذكري أن تتناولينها بعد ساعتين من تناول الطعام.
  • أغني أطباقك بالسعرات الحرارية الصحية: أضيفي المزيد من السعرات الحرارية الصحية إلى أطباقك. أضيفي المزيد من زيت الزيتون على السلطة، تناولي الزيتون مع السمبوسك بالجبنة المخبوزة. يمكنك أيضاً أن ترشي بعض المكسرات على الحلويات الرمضانية.
  • تناولي وجبة إضافية مغذية بين الإفطار والسحور: إذا كنت خارج المنزل خلال هذه الفترة، فكرة لذيذة أن تتناولي منقوشة مع كوب من اللبن أو طبق من حمص البليلة مع كوب من عصير كوكتيل الفاكهة. أو ببساطة يمكنك تناول سندويش من الجبنة وكوب من الحليب. تذكري بأن تتناولي الحلويات بعد هذه الوجبة لكي تستفيدي من المواد الغذائية الصحية في هذه الوجبة.
  • احرصي على تناول وجبة السحور: لا تتخيلي أبداً أنه يمكنك أن تحصلي على جميع احتياجاتك الغذائية من خلال وجبة واحدة. هذا ما يجعل السحور وجبة في غاية الأهمية. احرصي على أن تكون وجبة متوازنة لكي تحافظي على نمط غذائي سليم خلال هذا الشهر الفضيل. تناولي مثلاً طبقاً من الفول المدمس مع كمية وفيرة من زيت الزيتون ورغيفاً من الخبز الأسمر وبعض حبات الزيتون وكوباً من الحليب وطبقا من سلطة الفاكهة مع نكتار الفاكهة، لكي تمدي جسمك بالمزيد من الطاقة التي يحتاجه خلال النهار.

في النهاية هناك دائماً الكثير من الطرق لكي تزيدي سعراتك الحرارية اليومية وتتجنبي بالتالي خسارة الوزن خلال هذه الفترة. يمكنك أن تحققي ذلك من خلال إضافة مكونات غذائية صحية وغنية بالسعرات الحرارية في نفس الوقت، كأن تضيفي مثلا الزيوت الصحية والمكسرات والأفوكادو والزيتون. أيضاً تذكري أن النشاط البدني يساعدك على فتح شهيتك، لذلك كوني نشيطة وتحركي بعض الشيء، ففي الحركة بركة!

أليس هذا رائعاً! كيف تضعنا الحياة في مواقف مختلفة وتجمعنا على الكثير من الأمور التي أحياناً لا نستوعبها تماماً، لكن علينا التعامل معها دوماً كما يجب، حتى نكمل طريقنا على أفضل وجه. ها أنت تبذلين جهداً لتجنب انخفاض وزنك تحت المعدل الطبيعي، وأما صديقتك بجانبك تحاول بجهد جهيد مقاومة كل هذا، لأنها تخاف من زيادة وزنها فوق المعدل الطبيعي في رمضان! نتمنى لكما وللجميع، صياماً مقبولاً!

  1. القائمة

    انقر على أيقونة القائمة لكي تبدأ بتصفّح قائمة الموقع.

  2. العرض

    يمكنك تغير كيفية عرض الموقع من خلال الضغط على قائمة الأيقونات الظاهرة. أنت الآن في Grid view.