Water: drink up for health this summer!

Water is as precious as the air that you breathe; you cannot live without it! It is one of the most important components of all living organisms. Although you will be able to live without food for up to 50 days, without water you will barely survive for a few days, even in a cool climate. Water cannot be stored in the human body; therefore the amount of water lost everyday must be replaced to maintain your overall health and body functions. Your body loses water primarily through urine, sweat, exhaling, feces and perspiration and the two main sources to replace the water lost from your body is - food and beverages.

Why do you get dehydrated?

Any condition that increases your body temperature like physical activity, fever or high external temperature increases the need for water. So, dehydration is mainly caused by the inadequate intake of water or excessive fluid loss – in this case the hot summer days.

Who is at an increased risk for dehydration?Some people have special water requirements and are at an increased risk for getting dehydrated, they include:

  • Young children
  • Pregnant and lactating mothers
  • Athletes
  • Elderly

What are the symptoms of dehydration?

Although thirst encourages you to drink water, once you feel thirsty it means that dehydration has already occurred to a certain degree. Mild dehydration may result in tiredness, headache and decreased alertness and ability to concentrate. Other physical consequences may vary from a dry mouth and dark coloured urine to tingling and numbness.

Prevent getting dehydrated by using these methods

Your can maintain an appropriate water intake to match your body fluid loss and thus prevent dehydration. As mentioned earlier, the onset of the sensation of thirst is already a sign that dehydration has started. It is therefore good practice to anticipate and drink before becoming thirsty. A suitable daily allowance for adults is an average of 2.5 litres of water of which about 1.5 litres (8 glasses) should be consumed by drinking water and other liquids.

Good to Remember:

Keep yourself well hydrated throughout the day as this helps in maintaining concentration and alertness!

< Prev

لا للجفاف هذا الصيف!

المياه كالهواء، لا يمكننا العيش بدونها! إنها من أهم مكونات الكائنات الحية. يستطيع الإنسان البقاء حتى 50 يوماً بدون طعام، أما بدون مياه فهو لا يحيا إلا أياماً قليلة، حتى ولو حصل ذلك في مكان بارد. فالمياه لا تتخزن في جسم الإنسان، لذلك علينا تعويض الكميات التي يخسرها الجسم كلّ يوم في الحفاظ على الصحة وفي الأعمال الجسدية. فيخسر الجسم الماء في البول، العرق، التنفس والتبرز.أما المصدران الأساسيان لتزويد الجسم بالماء فهما الطعام والشراب.

كيف نتعرض للجفاف؟

أي حالة تزيد من حرارة الجسم كالتمارين الرياضية، إرتفاع الحرارة الجسدية أو إرتفاع الحرارة الخارجية تزيد من الحاجة لشرب الماء. فإن الجفاف يتسبب من قلة شرب المياه أو كثرة خسارتها من الجسم كما يحصل لنا خلال فصل الصيف.

من هم الأكثر عرضة للجفاف؟بعض الناس لديه حاجات خاصة من المياه وهو أكثر عرضة لخطر الجفاف:- الأطفال - الحوامل والمرضعات- الرياضيين- المسنين

ما هي عوارض الجفاف؟

رغم أن العطش يحثنا على شرب الماء، إلاّ أن الشعور به يعني الوصول الى درجة جفاف معيّنه. الجفاف البسيط قد يؤدي إلى تعب، ألم في الرأس وانخفاض في قدرة التنبّه وقدرة التركيز. أما العوارض الفيزيولوجية فقد تظهر بأوجه مختلفة بين جفاف الفم أو لون بول غامق أو إحساس بوخز خفيف وتنمُّل.

الجفاف: تجنّبيه خلال العوامل الوقائية

تناولي كميات كافية من المياه تعادل الخسارة الجسدية للسوائل وبذلك تحمي نفسك من الجفاف. كما ذكرنا سابقاً، بداية العطش علامة أن الجفاف قد بدأ، وإنه لمن المفضّل أن نشرب الماء قبل العطش فهذه عادة جيدة. الكمية المناسبة التي يجب أن يتناولها الشخص يومياً هي بمعدل 2.5 ليتر، منها 1.5 ليتر (8 أكواب) على الأقل ويُنصح باستهلاكها خلال تناول الماء والسوائل...

خير نصيحة:

حاولي أن تبقي مُنتعشة بالمياه طوال النهار لأنه بذلك تحافظين على قدرة عالية من التركيز والتنبّه.

سابق >