Skip to main content

A-Z to Healthy Living

Nutrition Dictionary

  • Omega-3

    Omega-3 fats are essential polyunsaturated fatty acids. Essential means that they cannot be produced in the body and therefore must be obtained from food. They can be classified into 3 different types: docosahexaenoic acid (DHA), eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and alpha-linolenic acid (ALA). EPA and DHA can be used directly by the body’s tissues. ALA can be converted to EPA and DHA in the body, however this is not very efficient, with only 15% of ALA converted to EPA and DHA.

Chat with us